The Reporter
Issue 488, 24 February 2003
Main stories
News in brief
In the news
Small ads


Honours | Chairs

Main stories

Fellowship winners


Six University teaching fellowships for 2003 have been awarded for outstanding contributions to teaching and the development of student learning. Michael Manogue in dentistry, Chris Butcher in SDDU and Mike Savage in physics and astronomy were awarded three-year fellowships, which provide £15,000 for a learning and teaching research project, and an annual honorarium of £1000. Syd Donald in German, Celia Knight in biology and Mark Kelmanson in applied mathematics were awarded one-year fellowships, which provide £4,000 project funding and a £1000 honorarium.

Dr Manogue was also chosen by Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Alan Pearman and the learning and teaching deans as the University’s nomination for the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme.

The University scheme was established in 2001. Last year, fellowships were awarded to Pauline Kneale in geography, Deborah Murdoch-Eaton in paediatrics and Rebecca O’Rourke in continuing education. Dr Kneale went on to win a £50,000 national teaching fellowship.


In this section
Current issue
Back issues
Search all reporters
Search current issue
Email the reporter
See also
Press office
Press releases
In the press
News archive
Facts and figures
History of the University
Send a postcard

Campus tour

A-Z staff & students Departments Administration & services Library Student union Campus map Site map Top 10 CampuswebContact us