The Reporter
Main stories
News in brief
In the news
Small ads


Chairs | Honours | Promotions


Emeritus geography professor Lionel Cliffe received the Distinguished Award from the African Studies Association.

Healthcare studies lecturer, David O’Halloran, has been appointed one of 12 new accreditors for the institute for learning and teaching. He joins existing Leeds accreditor Professor Phil Race.

Continuing education research fellow Helen Colley, in the institute for lifelong learning, has won the British Educational Research Association award for best dissertation completed in 2002.

The work of Leeds honorary graduate and alumnus Professor Craig Jordan was recognised in the Queen’s birthday honours list with an OBE.

Professor of social policy, Fiona Williams, has been elected to the Academy of Learned Societies for the Social Sciences.

Chemists Professor Keith Bartle, Professor Steve Scott and Dr Adam Nelson have all been honoured for their work. Professor Bartle received the M.J.E. Golay Medal from the International Organisation for the Promotion of Microcolumn Separations for his work on developing capillary chromatograpy and electrophoresis. The Royal Society of Chemistry awarded Professor Scott the Tilden lectureship for his pioneering interdisciplinary work on chemical instabilities and Dr Nelson the Meldola medal and prize for outstanding contributions to stereochemical research and bioactive natural product synthesis.

The Royal Society of Chemistry annual awards also highlighted the work of food scientist Professor Bronek Wedzicha and biophysicist Professor Simon Phillips. PhD student Neil Dixon has been chosen as one of their representatives at this year’s Nobel laureates’ conference in Lindau, Germany.

English professor Paul Hammond has been elected a fellow of the British Academy.
Two Leeds academics received honorary degrees from other universities this summer; emeritus professor of zoology Robert Alexander was made a doctor of science at Aberdeen and Leicester made emeritus professor of economic history Maurice Beresford a doctor of letters.

Head of the academic unit of general surgery, medicine and anaesthesia Professor Peter Howdle has been elected vice-president of the Methodist conference.

Dr Jane Francis from earth sciences has been nominated as one of 2002’s Women of the Year.

In this section
Current issue
Back issues
Search all reporters
Search current issue
Email the reporter
See also
Press office
Press releases
In the press
News archive
Facts and figures
History of the University
Send a postcard

Campus tour

A-Z staff & students Departments Administration & services Library Student union Campus map Site map Top 10 CampuswebContact us