Email a studentSend a postcardEmail a student
Send a postcard
Email a student
The University of Leeds
The Reporter
In this section
The University
Studying at Leeds
Leeds & Yorkshire

Issue 480, 22 April 2002


Dr Jane Francis of earth sciences received her polar medal from the Queen at Buckingham Palace (pictured below). The polar medal was instituted in 1904 for members of Captain Scott's first expedition to the Antarctic. Dr Francis is the fourth woman to be awarded the medal, out of a total of around 4,000 recipients.

Professor Mike Pilling has been appointed director of the new NERC Institute for Atmospheric Composition. The institute will involve several other universities, but be based at the University of Leeds.

Professor of international business at LUBS, Peter Buckley, has been elected president of the Academy of International Business (AIB) from June 2002-04, after which period he will serve as 'immediate past president' on the AIB Executive Board for a further two years.

Dr John Heritage has been made a Fellow of the Institute of Biology.

Dr Rosemary MacDonald, who recently retired as postgraduate dean for the school of medicine, has been awarded the gold medal of the Royal College of Anaesthetists for services to the speciality of anaesthesia. She is also to be made an honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Honorary graduate and former student Dr Craig Jordan is the co-recipient of the first Dorothy P Landon-AACR prize for translational cancer research. The honour was bestowed for the work he began at Leeds, looking at the relationship between oestrogen and breast cancer.

Geography graduate David Ward has taken over as president of the USA's foremost higher education lobby group, the American Council on Education. Former Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, part of the Worldwide Universities Network, Professor Ward's known belief in an international agenda for higher education will help to bring such collaborations to the top of the American agenda.

Dr Kenneth Hay of the school of fine art, history of art and cultural studies has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society for the encouragement of the Arts, Manufacture and Commerce.

  Current issue
  Back issues
  Search all online issues of the Reporter
  Search current issue
  Email the reporter
  Small ads

See also
  Press office
  Press releases
  In the press
  News archive
  Facts and figures
  History of the University
  Send a post card

Quick Links A-Z staff & students Departments Administration & services Library Student Union Campus map Website map Top 10 Intranet Contact us