Reporter 450, 3 April 2000

Faculties choose their people for Senate

Faculties have elected the following to Senate (three-year appointment unless otherwise indicated): Andrew Cooper, Dr Peter Millican, Dr David Parker, Dr Jasbinder Singh, Professor Alan Watson, Professor Griselda Pollock (2), Mr Stephen Clark (1) (elected by all faculties); and Professor Simon M Dixon, Dr Richard Rastall (elected by arts); Dr Malcolm Chase, Dr Sasha Roseneil (business, law, education and social sciences); Dr Andrew Booth, Dr Howard Parish (1), Professor Jeremy Rayner, Dr Roger Soames (2) (biological sciences); Dr Alan Slomson, Mrs Pamela Davies (2) (mathematics and physical sciences); Dr Edward Hampartsoumian, Professor Brian Hoyle (engineering); Mr Babatunde Gbolade, Dr Anthony J Long, Dr Christopher Peers, Mr Peter Rogers, Mrs Lynne Veal (medicine, dentistry, psychology and health).

The following were also elected: David Brook (1), Dr David Salinger (1) and Professor Alan Watson (1), Senate to committee on pro-vice-chancellorships; Dr David Salinger, all faculties to Council; Dr David Parker, all faculties to academic development committee; Stephen Clark, all faculties to staff committee; Dr Gary Chambers, BLESS learning and teaching committee; Dr Jeremy Toner, earth and environment to graduate board group on programmes of study and audit; Dr Paul Millner, biological sciences to graduate board group on scholarships, studentships and prizes; Dr Paul Williams, engineering to committee on senior lectureships; Dr Brian Henson, engineering to faculty learning and teaching committee; Margaret Lascelles, medicine, dentistry, psychology and health learning and teaching committee.

Vacancies on committees (excluding Senate) will remain vacant, or can be filled by co-option for one year, as from October 1.

Elections by and from Senate to Council, Senate to University committees and individual faculty constituencies to the Council (to be reconstituted on August 1) will begin on May 8. Ballots, if necessary, are to begin on May 26. Elections by academic-related, ancillary, clerical and technical staff to Council will begin on May 15 (ballots begin June 2). Contact Helen Pickersgill on ext 4036.

A further detailed account of the above text is available here

[Main news stories | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Karen Cooper