Reporter 445, 24 January 2000

Honours for new year

Professor David Rhodes of the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering was awarded a CBE in the New Year's Honours list for services to engineering research. Professor Rhodes - founder and chairman of Shipley-based company Filtronic - has also been awarded the CASS Golden Jubilee Medal by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Circuits and Systems Society.

Hywel Coleman of the School of Education has been awarded an OBE for services to education in Indonesia. Mr Coleman is the University's principal adviser (Indonesia) and lived and worked in the country for twelve years.

MBA students Brandon Charlston, Fiona Chiu, Chang Fei Li, Mandaar Ranade, Haja Ranaivo, Isabel Ting Song and Peter Vandermindin of the Leeds University Business School were voted the most enterprising team in the Barclays Business Awareness competition.

Professor Diana Holmes of the Department of French and Professor Susan Siegfried of the Department of Fine Art have been awarded fellowships by the Leverhulme Trust.

Professor Marjorie Wilson of the School of Earth Sciences has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Uppsala, Sweden.

[Main news stories | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Karen Cooper