Reporter 439, 27 September 1999

Eight share inaugural June Wenban prize

The first award-winners of the June Wenban Prize for outstanding and innovative work and teaching performance have been announced.

Eight education students on the secondary PGCE course shared the inaugural prize, generously endowed by the Wenban family in memory of June, who worked for many years in the School of Education.

The winning students (pictured, above, with the judges Professor David Sugden, Jim Bennett, John Trafford and school chair Dr Paul Sharp) were Susan Attwater, Philip Beddard, Carolyn Blundell, Alistair Hopkins, Sonya Neall, Elizabeth Percival, Dorothee Schulte and Richard Wayman.

David Bell, a principal technician in the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering has been made a member of the Institution of Incorporated Engineers. Professor John Bell of the Department of Law has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy.

Jonathan Chambers, a student on the mechatronics course offered jointly by the School of Mechanical Engineering and the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, has been awarded a Leadership award by the Royal Academy of Engineering.

A research paper authored by Professor Duncan Dowson, Dr Pascal Ehret and Professor Chris Taylor of the School of Mechanical Engineering has won the 1999 Tribology Division Prize awarded by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Professor David Rhodes of the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering has been awarded the 1999 Mullard Award by the Royal Society.

The School of Continuing Education's Widening Provision Project has been selected as a winner in the Progression in Higher Education category of the National Organisation for Adult Learning's New Learning Opportunities awards.

Professor Stan Brown of the School of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has been made president of the European Society of Photobiology.

[Main news stories | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Hannah Dee