Reporter 438, 26 July 1999


Emeritus Professor W Geoffrey Arnott of the School of Classics has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy.

Civil Engineering student Peter Cotton was awarded the Otter Trophy by the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management.

Head of the School of Mechanical Engineering Professor David Crolla and the Head of the Department of Fuel and Energy Professor Alan Williams have been elected Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Dr James Fairhead of the Department of Earth Sciences has been awarded the Society of Exploration Geophysicists’ Special Commendation Award.

Professor Ronald Grigg of the School of Chemistry has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society.

The School of Healthcare Studies has been assessed and re-recognised as an Investor in People.

Dr John Heritage of the Department of Microbiology has been invited to become a member of the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food’s Advisory Committee on Animal Feedingstuffs.

Dr Ian Holme of Textile Industries has been elected President of the Society of Dyers and Colourists.

Professor Mike Kirkby of the School of Geography has been awarded the Founder’s Medal from the Royal Geographical Society.

Paul Nicholson, of the Computing Service, was awarded ‘Best Paper’ prize (co-authored with Deborah Allon and Estelle Gilman) at the recent SAS European User Group conference. He also accepted a European Academic Computing Award on behalf of the University.

Professor Brian Richardson of Italian has been awarded a Senior Research Fellowship by the British Academy.

Professor Inga-Stina Ewbank, Emeritus Professor of English Literature, has been awarded the Silver Bauhina Star by the Chief Executive of Hong Kong.

Professor Christopher Taylor of Mechanical Engineering has been made of Fellow of the Institute of City and Guilds on the basis of his distinctions in mechanical engineering.

Professor Richard Taylor of the School of Continuing Education has been elected as Chair of the Executive of the National Institute for Adult Continuing Education for three years.

Professor Sonia Williams of the School of Dentistry has been awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for her work in Child Dental Health and for ethnic minorities.

Leeds University Business School chairman Ken Woolmer has been awarded a life peerage. Mr Woolmer joined the school in 1963 and was appointed to its chair in 1997. He has also served as its Dean of External Relations. Now a working peer, Lord Woolmer was MP for Batley and Spen between 1979 and 1983.

Lord Woolmer
Lord Woolmer

[Main news stories | Letters | In the news | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Hannah Dee