Reporter 424, 5 October 1998


Professor Zygmunt Bauman of the Department of Sociology and Social Policy has been awarded the prestigious Adorno Prize for Sociology. Named after Theodor Adorno, a German philosopher of the Frankfurt School, the Prize is annually awarded by the City of Frankfurt. It was given to Professor Bauman in recognition of his 1989 book Modernity and the Holocaust, which the judges described as being one of the most original contributions to the development of social science in the twentieth century.

Professor Anne Chamberlain of the Research School of Medicine has been awarded an OBE for services to rheumatological rehabilitation.

Dr Samir Mukhopadhyay of the Department of Textiles has been invited to accept the SG Smith Memorial Medal. The medal is awarded to persons who are internationally recognised as furthering the scientific knowledge of fibres.

Professor Duncan Dowson of the School of Mechanical Engineering has been awarded the Kelvin Medal for 1998. First awarded in 1920, it is presented triennially for distinguished service in the application of science to engineering. In the recent round of elections to the Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Derek Bradley, Emeritus Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering and Professor Peter Dowd, of the School of Process, Environmental and Materials Engineering, have been elected Fellows of the Academy.

Professor Philip Rees of the School of Geography has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy.

Dr Andrew McIntosh of the Department of Fuel and Energy has received a DSc degree from the University of Wales, Bangor for research in combustion theory.

Professor Peter Buckley of the Centre for International Business has accepted an Honorary Professorship at the University of International Business and Economics in Beijing.

Dr Hyam Maccoby has been appointed as Visiting Professor of Jewish Studies in the Centre for Jewish Studies.

Dr Michael Beaney of the School of Philosophy has been awarded a Humboldt Fellowship for a year’s research in Germany at the Universities of Erlangen-Nuernberg and Jena.

Mr Derek Dring of the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering has been elected as a member of Council of the Institution of Electrical Engineers.

Emeritus Professor John Weatherell has been awarded the title of doctor honoris causa by the University of Athens.

[Main news stories | In the news | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Jeremy M. Harmer