Reporter 421, 27 May 1998

Closer look at college links

Working groups have been established to explore the possibility of closer collaboration between Leeds and Bretton Hall, which became a College of the University in 1990.

Discussions are taking place in the context of a strategic review of our relationships with the region’s colleges.

Schools and departments with complementary academic programmes will be fully involved in assessing the potential benefits (and disadvantages) of strengthened links.

An interim report will be produced by the end of July and a full report made to Senate and Council by the end of the year.

Bretton Hall has some 2,900 students (nearly 90 percent of whom are full-time) in five schools: Art and Design, Dance and Theatre, Music, English, and Educational and Social Studies.

Its traditional strengths are in education (around 700 students), music (200), fine art, fashion and textiles (400) and theatre (540). Nearly half its students come from Yorkshire, and women outnumber men by 2:1.

The campus is set in a 500-acre estate (dating back to the 13th century) near Wakefield of lakes, woodland, parkland and formal gardens and is home to Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Two other constituent colleges are designated as Colleges of the University – Ripon and York St John, and Trinity and All Saints – and seven have continuing affiliations; Askham Bryan College, Barnsley College, College of the Resurrection, Doncaster College (Mineral Engineering), Leeds College of Art and Design, City of Leeds College of Music and the Northern School of Contemporary Dance.

[Main news stories | In the news | Letters | News in brief | Events | Notice board]

HTML by Jeremy M. Harmer