Reporter 401, 6 May 1997

Assistant Dean inducted into Nursing Honour Society

At the International Conference of Research Based Practice, held in Jyvaskyla, Finland during February 1997, David Lee, Assistant Dean of the School of Healthcare Studies was formally inducted as an international member of the Delta Alpha chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, on the 18th February, by Dr. Gail Williams, President of the Delta Alpha Chapter. Sigma Theta Tau is an Honour Society for Nursing. It seeks to recognise superior achievement and leadership, foster high professional standards, encourage creativity and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the nursing profession and has Chapters at more than 390 accredited college and university schools of nursing worldwide.

The Delta Alpha Chapter is based at the School of Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Centre at San Antonio, Texas, USA. This brings the total of international members of Sigma Theta Tau at the School of Healthcare Studies to nine.

In June of 1996, Susan Batchelor, Marion Cofield, Denis Delbridge, Pauline Dodsworth, Marion Hinds, Gillian Joynson, Audrey Reed and Margaret Lascelles were formally inducted as international members of the Xi Epsilon Chapter based at the School of Nursing, California State University at Bakersfield, California, USA. This induction took place in Leeds during the visit of members of the faculty from California State University in Bakerfield.

[Main news stories | University home page | Events]